Break in period - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 08-13-2010, 07:09 AM

Break in period

At the risk of sounding like a complete newb, I just received my first Les Baer, an Ultimate Recon, yesterday. It's a beautiful gun. Put 180 rounds through it last night at work with no hiccups. My question is, there are lots of references to a break in period, about not cleaning your gun for the first so many rounds, and so on. However, I have not found anything specific. And yes, I used the search function. I was wanting to know if there is a recommended break in period (or number), how long to go before cleaning it, etc. Appreciate your help.

By the way, this will hopefully ultimately be my duty gun. We are authorized to carry Springers, Kimbers, Colts, and Rock Rivers. I have to get the blessing from the Chief, if so it will replace the Operator that I am currently carrying.
Old 08-13-2010, 07:53 AM

Congrats on the new Baer and welcome to the forum.

I've read and been told anywhere from 300 to 500 rounds to "smooth the gun in" I just add a few drops of oil to the rails and barrel hood during that time at about each 100 rounds. It's worked well for all mine.

Tell your superiors that the folks at Rock River used to be Baer employees (well some anyway) thus you are getting a very high quality pistol.

Now keep shooting, oh and we need pictures both clean and dirty of the gun!!!
Old 08-13-2010, 08:19 AM

After I got mine, I called LB to clarify their suggested break in. I was told shoot about 500 rounds to mate the parts, and clean just like you would any other 1911.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2010, 09:09 AM

Being in Iowa, your chief should have no compunctions w/ blessing a Les Baer.
NRA Certified Instructor- Pistol
Old 08-14-2010, 07:20 PM

RE: Baer Break in...