Feed Failure w/ 8 Rounds - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 04-18-2010, 02:23 AM

Feed Failure w/ 8 Rounds

Hi all... I'm new to handguns and bought a Taurus PT1911 AR today.

I haven't fired it yet, just been going through the cleaning process and ejecting rounds to get used to the slide pull.

One issue I've come across is this:

If I have 8 rounds loaded into the mag, when I pull the slide to chamber the first round, it will get stuck before entering the chamber and the slide will be stuck about halfway back. Fixing this requires pulling the slide back, depressing the mag release, and pulling the mag out. The first round will remain in the mag but will be partially pushed out.

With 7 rounds only, the issue does not occur.

I've looked around and found some sites that say it may be related to weak springs in the mag that just don't have enough "oomph" to properly push that 8th round in all the way. I've also read some sites that say the mag springs may just need to be exercised a bit with 7 rounds and then they should be good for the full 8.

I was just wondering if this is a common occurrence and nothing to be worried about?

I've ordered a Wilson Combat mag as I've read good things about them, but would like to continue using the stock Taurus mags as well.
Old 04-18-2010, 03:40 AM

I would try and break it in for a bit first. Hiccups aren't unusual when fresh out of the box.

The stock mag on my RIA 1911 did a nose down FTF when I first got it... not a concern any more. Wore itself in after first range session.

The Wilson mags are good stuff. I have a couple, and they are what I toss in the gun when I am carrying it. If one must rely on something to potentially save his/her hide... it better work when needed. I like the Wilson stuff as a whole, but I find the mags particularly nice.
Old 04-18-2010, 04:59 AM