Sorry, but it has to be said. - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 10-29-2018, 09:28 PM

Sorry, but it has to be said.

I've been getting back into 1911's the past couple years. I'm a mechanic by trade, and catch onto mechanical stuff decently well. I read this forum voraciously. Well, now I do. I wish I had BEFORE I started spending money on 1911's. I'm not counting the couple I had 20 years ago. Strictly my current exposure, which let me to what I'm going to say.

My first recent / decent 1911 (style) gun is a Springfield EMP4.

My most recent purchase (caused by this forum) is a DW Valor Commander.

Now in the general realm of gun owners, everyone knows Springfield, and their 1911's have a very good reputation amongst owners. But I have to say, IMO, and in what I now know, I will never buy another Springfield 1911 when I can, for about the same money, but a much nicer DW 1911.

I'm not looking at this from a cosmetic approach either. Strictly build quality. attention to proper fitting. Case in point... My first EMP4, the ejector came loose in under 200 rounds and locked up the gun. My second one, which I still have, was really innaccurate. After studying and learning here, I changed the link from a #3 to a #2, and the gun shoots much more accurately. The difference, IMO, is that Springfield may have decent parts, but it gets lost on assembly. DW has very good parts... but they seem to spend the time on assembly to make the parts work they way they are "supposed" to.

Now that DW has the Vigil line, I myself would tell anyone wanting an entry level / first 1911 to ONLY look at the Vigils. I don't own a Vigil, but I've has 2 DW's and they are a magnitude better that what everyone "thinks" is a good 1911.

I'm not any company's fanboy. I like value when I spend my money. In this case, it's DW, with no conversation otherwise.

Sorry, but it had to be said.