1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 01-12-2019, 12:30 PM

My Lee Classic Turrret is Defective

At least I'm guessing it MUST be defective. I've been using it for about 10 years and have loaded thousands of rounds in several calibers, handgun and rifle.

In that same timeframe I've read a whole lot of folks trashing the machine as nearly worthless and suggesting that unless it's blue, green or different shade of red it is a boat anchor at best.

I can report that I'm still on the original black plastic square ratchet (a supposed weak link), I prime on press without issue, use only Lee dies without a failure or problem, and in general find the machine to be built plenty strong enough and plenty reliable enough for all my ammo needs.

Therefore, there must be something amiss with this press, as so many 'experts' out there assure me I'm doomed.

I could be mistaken - LOL

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet" - Abraham Lincoln
Old 01-12-2019, 03:14 PM

Ha.. good one... yeah, I say trash it now. Iím at about 8k myself and, as well, think mine must be a bad machine... I think I dropped 3 to 4 primers during those 8k rounds. Bad performance... Ha
Old 01-12-2019, 03:17 PM

I am pleased with my Lee Turret Press. I use mind as a single stage press. I hand prime. The powder drop mechanism is OK. It could be better. However, my loads are for plinking, paper and steel targets. I donít need the precision for my purpose.

I like making my own ammo and I enjoy the process and gives me something to do.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2019, 04:20 PM

I use lee presses never a problem, there dies and accessories too.

Gun Safety never sleeps or takes a day off, be safe do it right......
Old 01-12-2019, 10:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyP View Post