Need advice - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 02-21-2020, 07:06 PM

Need advice

Hey guys, I’m new to the forum, and 1911s in general. I have some experience shooting handguns, mainly glocks. I recently purchased a Springfield 911 380 for summer carry. I am absolutely in love with it! I like having a manual thumb safety, and the single action trigger is so smooth and crisp compared to what I’m used to. I have decided that my next purchase will be a full size, true 1911. My criteria is $1000 price range, made in USA, Novak style sights, and an ambi safety. (I’m right handed, but left eye dominant, and I shoot both hands equally as often, but I prefer to carry lefty) I’m leaning towards the Springfield loaded stainless. I’m looking for any suggestions though. Thanks guys!
Old 02-22-2020, 02:33 AM

Welcome.

There are many good choices in full size at your price range. Here you'll get a lot of recommendations for Colt and Springfield, but since you mentioned "stainless" may I suggest an alternative...the S&W e-Series.

(custom grips and S&A arched MSH added)

If the non-traditional slide serrations don't offend you, its a GREAT pistol. A series-70 design with forged frame, forged slide, match grade barrel and front strap checkering. I assume by "Novak style sights" you mean a fixed, two-dot rear...which the e-Series has, and they use a Novak cut on their slide if you want to go with genuine Novak sights. It does not come with ambi-safety, but that's an easy and inexpensive fix...although if you ever plan to carry it on your hip you may prefer single-side safety to avoid accidentally bumping it off, as I have done with my ambi-safety EDC.