Problem with Winchester white box 9mm range ammo running on nighthawk custom 1911 !!! - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 06-03-2019, 07:32 PM

Problem with Winchester white box 9mm range ammo running on nighthawk custom 1911 !!!

I am no expert on 1911 .. i have used em in the past and buy them in bulk ... no problems with my Wilson’s but yesterday took my brand new never fired safe queen nighthawk t4 to the range planned to run at least 500 rounds but got tired after running 200 rounds with multiple jams failure to extract from the pipe ...called nighthawk today explained the problem . The 1st thing they asked surprisingly are u running Winchester white box 9mm and not to run those ... apparently they mention that’s just about the only ammo they are aware of that does not work well with nighthawk customs .
Well didn’t had anything else to ask until i run other brands Thru this pistol to draw my conclusion if something is wrong with this brand new pistol ...
Not sure if you guys have similar experience ??

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 06-03-2019, 07:38 PM

If I was out of ammo and really wanted to go shooting and white box was the only ammo on the shelf, I would leave it on the shelf. It not your gun. Worst ammo in my experience.
Old 06-03-2019, 07:51 PM

"Promo" ammo is historically inconsistent in powder charge, crimp, COL and whatever else can go wrong when Q/C is inconsistent.

Under pressure loads will have difficulty acting on the slide to extract. Under pressure loads can also be really dirty with promo ammo and can also cause difficult extraction.

I don't shoot the stuff.

Reloading has its advantages!

Smiles,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-03-2019, 08:43 PM

"if your gun will cycle wwb then it will cycle anything" words of wisdom but I have to admit that some guns gobble it up with zero issues.