New Mil-Spec, New Springfield Owner - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-15-2020, 02:50 PM

New Mil-Spec, New Springfield Owner

I went to my LGS this morning hunting for a Colt 1911 Classic and they had just sold their last one. They did however have this Springfield "Mil-Spec" model that looked and felt great with an even better price, $500 so I jumped on it.

I'm something of a Colt fanboy and have never owned a Springfield, so I'm hoping the other members of this forum will enlighten me on the basics.

Are Springfields regarded as on the same level of quality as your basic new Colt? Any known issues with this particular pistol that I need to be aware of?

Like I said, I'm new to Springfield.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0021.jpg  

Last edited by Vintage68; 03-15-2020 at 05:39 PM.
Old 03-15-2020, 06:47 PM

Welcome from us ( Springfield) to you (Colt)! The best thing i can tell you is to google or use the search feature and type in "defender" and you should have plenty of reading for the next several hours on the differences between your Springfield Armory Defender Series 1911 vs. Mil-Spec vs. Colt vs. Rock Island and so on and so on. You have an excellent entry level 1911 from Springfield that is made from the finest Carbon Steel available and chocked full of MIM. I love mine !!
Old 03-15-2020, 07:12 PM

I never owned a Colt I've only heard really bad things about their services .
I've always been turned off by Colt fan boys and their willingness to see
passed the horse on the slide .

Great to have you try a Springfield and be on the forum . The pistol is one of
the best values on the market . Really just keep it lubed well , clean it at normal
intervals like any other 1911 and it will run and shoot just fine . In fact some
Springfield's run on the tight side . So run 500 rds through it fast to break it in .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement