Local Comp - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-19-2017, 09:45 PM

Local Comp

Please? No disrespect intended to the dedicated comp shooters. Lord knows I could never compete nor did I ever have any intention of doing so. Just wanted to toss out a cool experience I had!

Yesterday the Wife and I participated in a local competition that I thought was just right for us. We love to shoot, and is something that we have and can do together. That is important for us.

The comp was presented to us designed as a defensive oriented competition that differed from the sanctioned events in one way in that one’s EDC was strongly encouraged. Racing guns strongly discouraged. It was presented as a typical armed citizen type event. I have no experience in comps. Counting this I have participated in exactly one! I saw participants using everything from their G43’s all the way up to govt size 1911’s. Those were not walkabouts btw. I asked. Women and men mix. No classes, no differentiations. Just folks running stages together.

The stages were inconsistent in that targets were called on the fly and after the timer beep. Lot’s of moving and thinking, which was excellent. You may have been called the easier targets, or maybe the more difficult ones. Under the timer to add the pressure to the accuracy pressure, and great scenarios simulating possible everyday defensive situations. On/off hand, family situations, holding a baby that you can’t let go, house clearing, in your face encounters, etc. Simple scoring. Accuracy first, then times to determine any accuracy ties. But the strong suit, in my opinion, was that the competitors competed against themselves by design.