Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 08-12-2020, 10:25 AM
Banned

Starting Reloading

Hey Folks,
I am new to reloading and given the situation with ammo, I have decided to learn and start reloading myself. I realize right now is not going to be good to get supplies as many of them are hard to find. But I plan to start reloading even when things loosen up.

To that end, I would like to gain some information about the supplies and equipment to get to do this right from the get-go.

1. What is the best equipment to buy for quality reloading? (Budget ~$500 - $1,000)

2. What are all of the supplies that are needed? I do not want to tumble casing. I rather buy the casings in bulk and just reload.

Any advice and information around where I should go to purchase the supplies would be greatly appreciated. If you feel more comfortable, please private message me.

Thank you.
Old 08-12-2020, 10:29 AM

For plinking/fun/hunting, once-fired cases in the caliber[s] you enjoy.

I'm fond of Lee Precision dies and presses, as they are quite affordable.

Primers are hard to find today; powders - check your manuals for choices.
Old 08-12-2020, 12:09 PM

If you are not familiar with the process and equipment, it may be well to first get one of the reloading manuals, Speer, Hornady, Sierra and Lyman, and others, have manuals. They go through the process.

Reading through one (or more) of the manuals should give you a basic grounding allowing better insight to the equipment that suits you.

Some of the questions may include. what quantity of ammunition do you anticipate? Larger volumes pointy to a progressive press. Lesser may be accomplished with a single stage.

You did not mention what cartridge(s) you want to reload. Small primers are very hard to find at present. That's not to say you should not go ahead with equipment, but you may not be able to immediately begin loading.