Trying to understand no firing pin safety (70 Series) - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-11-2020, 06:14 PM

Trying to understand no firing pin safety (70 Series)

I am very new to the world of 1911's, i just made my first purchase, the S&W PC1911 Commander size, cant wait for it to ship!

I have been trying to do my best to learn as much as i can about 1911's, so please excuse me if this is a stupid question.

1911’s that do not have a firing pin safety (series 70 style) which i believe the PC1911 is: if there was a serious breakage of the sear or the sear pin snaps in half, will the pistol fire if it is cocked and locked? Looking at the mechanics, it would seem like it would. if this is the case, are there any recommendations of safety etc. Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks!
Old 03-11-2020, 06:40 PM
Super Moderator

First and foremost, your S&W PC1911 is a fine gun, shoot it and have confidence in it; it is one of the most underrated production 1911's on the market.