1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 01-11-2020, 05:02 PM

Springfield Compact RO 1911 Firing Pin Question

I am new to the 1911 and trying to learn about function. The Question:
My SA 45 cal Compact RO 1911 uses a .069 Titanium firing pin with an extra heavy return spring. The rationale seems to be it passes the CA drop test without going to the series 80 system. My question is about the speed of the SA setup. Is the extra heavy spring slowing lockup significantly? Would there be anything to gain by using a standard spring and would safety be significantly impacted?

I used this thread as reference: https://forums.1911forum.com/showthread.php?t=223877
Old 01-11-2020, 07:11 PM

The extra heavy mainspring (hammer spring) does not significantly slow the forward movement of the slide and so has no impact on the speed at which the barrel goes into battery. It does slow the rearward movement of the slide which is generally a good thing. It also slightly increases trigger pull.

You cannot use a standard 23lb mainspring without first replacing the titanium firing pin with a steel one without risking misfires. The potential gain would be if you shoot powder puff ammo, the slide would be less likely to short stroke. But there are other, better ways to account for light loads.

Unless you're in the habit of carrying your pistol stuck in your waistband and hanging upside down from fire escapes, I can't see that removing the titanium firing pin would pose a safety risk. The extra power firing pin spring that Wolff ships with all of their recoil springs is more than sufficient to prevent inertia caused accidental discharges except in the most absurd, contrived situations.