Things that make you go huh! - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-26-2017, 06:03 PM

Things that make you go huh!

Does anyone bother with trimming 45 ACP brass. I often wonder about accuracy. I also wonder, is there any difference in quality between good American Brands and ok import stuff like PMC or SB
Old 03-26-2017, 06:26 PM

So far I haven't seen a need to trim my 9, 38 or 357's ... they just don't seem to 'grow' like rifle brass does.
Old 03-26-2017, 06:55 PM

I have a trimmer, I have measured 45 brass. I am not shooting competition, just range shooting and I have never had a reason. I do not have a progressive press, and I have been just fine for the last 5 or 6 years.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2017, 07:28 PM

I've been reloading since 1976, and I have never trimmed a semiauto round in any caliber. It has not been necessary. For revolvers, it's a different story.

PMC is good, high quality ammo. Although I rarely shoot factory ammo, the PMC that I have shot has all been good stuff; at least as good as Federal, Winchester or Remington. S&B has also been quality ammo in my experience. I wouldn't be afraid to shoot any familiar brand, brass cased ammo. I may be more hesitant to shoot some of the obscure, weird branded steel cased stuff.
Old 03-26-2017, 09:04 PM

I wish I had a link. But I saw where a fella on this forum did a pretty thorough write up on how various case preparations effected accuracy with 45acp.

It appeared that trimming cases to a consistent length actually caused accuracy to degrade. Wish I could find it. I don't remember too many details.
Old 03-26-2017, 11:24 PM
Super Moderator

I don't trim 45acp cases. 99.99% of reloaders don't. Not necessary. Does not improve accuracy.