1911Forum banner

Getting used to the 1911 trigger

3K views 30 replies 23 participants last post by  Sure1 
#1 ·
Coming from shooting Glocks exclusively the last few years, I'm having a hard time "getting" the 1911 trigger. I feel like I'm all over the place and the targets would agree. If I go super slow & focused, I can generally put rounds where I want, but anything faster than 1 round every few seconds and all bets are off.

I'd appreciate some tips/advice on going back and forth between the platforms and not shooting like a total noob each time.

#2 · (Edited)
Strangly even though I love 1911 triggers I shoot glocks better. I think some of it is in the grip and also in my head. The fatter square grip of the polymer guns feel better in my hands. Almost finished building a double stack 1911 which has a similar feel to a plastic gun hoping to see some improvement with this.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

#9 · (Edited)
Strange that the trigger would be the issue, this is usually one of the positive-differentiating attributes of a 1911 vs semi-plastics...BUT:

What kind of 1911 do you have?? Some of the low-end 1911 have crappy triggers NOOB. They can be way too heavy, and way to gritty. These can be fixed by a gunsmith.

Conversely, what kind of glock trigger are you use too? is it a tuned trigger post factory? Is it on a well worn glock which usually helps the trigger feel over time?