Secondhand Enforcer - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 04-20-2017, 07:18 PM

Secondhand Enforcer

My lgs has an Enforcer in the case that has been there for a few months on consignment. Today I finally asked to see it. The tag on the gun says that the owner has 3000 rounds through the gun and that the gun has been refreshed, which I interpreted to mean new springs. The owner was not in and the person helping me knew nothing about the gun other than how long it has been there.

I do own a few Colt 1911s, but am far from an expert on the platform and I have no experience outside of my colts. I have always dreamed of owning a NHC, but have never been in a position financially to step up to the plate on a new one.

Hoping you guys might be able to offer some insight on what to look for and what a fair price would be.

Last edited by Hound1; 04-20-2017 at 07:25 PM.
Old 04-21-2017, 01:59 AM

Look for a new gun at 5% off. Some dealers may discount more, but most will offer at least 5% off. I just got a new T3 for $3k, retails $3,450. Sat in the shop with the trigger and hammer (and therefore slide) zip-tie locked so no monkeys could drop the slide on an empty chamber (pet peeve).
If you're still trying to put horns on a used Enforcer with 3k rounds, I'm guessing it should sell for low $2k. If anything is wrong with it, Nighthawk Custom can certainly make it right. It just might be on your dime.
As for what to look out for on a used gun, hopefully someone will chime in or, you could search the subject. I presume the dealer offers no warranty/refund/protection on a consignment piece, but ask to be sure?
NHC is an excellent manufacturer and well worth saving for. Just take your time and be certain you get what you really want, not just what happens to be out there for a possible good deal.
Old 04-21-2017, 06:59 AM