1911Forum banner

My First STI ~ DVC Limited 9mm

5K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  Rwehavinfunyet 
#1 · (Edited)
While I am not new to the forum, I am new to this particular section of the forum. Most of my threads have been limited to the Range Reports, Dan Wesson and Wilson Combat sections of the forum. But after spending the entire day shooting steel two weeks ago, with my fingers numb and sore from reloading 9-round 1911 9mm magazines all day, I decided it was necessary to up my mag capacity for this particular activity. I already have a couple of more days booked at the range to play and needed to figure out how to remedy this problem before my next visit. It seemed to me a 2011 made the most sense because of my familiarity with the 1911 platform. When I think of 2011s, I think STI.

Last week I found a nice deal on a very lightly used STI DVC Limited in 9mm with four mags. I picked it up two days ago and shot it yesterday for the first time. The first thing I noticed, my Wilson Combat Carry Comp, my daily carry gun and the gun I used most on my all day steel shooting day, has noticeably less recoil than the STI regardless of load used. There is no question about that. The only load where it is even close is with the Syntech 150gr Action Pistol round; which the STI absolutely loves. But it is still not truly close in terms of recoil. The Carry Comp with the same load feels like a 22lr, the STI feels like a 22mag.