1911Forum banner

Which rifle should I choose?

2K views 27 replies 25 participants last post by  therewolf 
#1 ·
I'm planning on buying a new rifle for general home defense and farm use. The three I'm looking at are a new Auto-Ordnance M1 carbine, a Ruger Mini 14, or a good lever action in 44, 357, or 30-30. The rifle should be able to take down coyote, bobcat, and the occasional deer.

#2 ·
I have owned and shot all of them you listed. My first choice would be a .30-30 lever-action. I have been using one for deer hunting since the mid 1950s. I currently have Winchester '94 rifles in .30-30, .45 Colt, and .44 magnum.

#4 ·
My first and only choice on your list would be the 30-30, prefer the Marlin for accuracy and if you plan to scope it too.

As far as the mini 14, all the years seen these on the range disappointing accuracy. As far as the M1 carbine, great defense gun for moderate ranges (100-150 yds) but for use on Yotes & smaller varmints while the .30 carbine has enough velocity/foot pounds the gun was designed for human "torso" shots. I've shot M-1 carbine for years, fun gun but even with hand loads 3" - 5" groups . Now for deer the .223 and .30 carbine have killed deer will proper bullets and placement while the 30-30 as a cartridge has been known to kill more deer than the 30-06. So considering all in one gun the 30-30 would be best suited and ammo would be more available than the 223 & .30 carbine.

Just an FYI, demand for lever guns new and used remains "high", just plug in Marlin lever 30-30 on Gun Broker.

#14 ·
For those applications ...

My first and only choice on your list would be the 30-30, prefer the Marlin for accuracy and if you plan to scope it too.

^^^ this ^^^

If home defense were an issue, I might make an argument for the M1.

#5 ·
M1 carbine would be a suitable solution. Not much chance of over penetration yet it will get the job done.