Parkerizing - My experience - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Old 10-18-2014, 06:49 PM

Parkerizing - My experience

I wanted to share how I did this , it seems difficult to me to find consistent step by step instructions on how to park and what to get as far as supplies. I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination nor claim to be anything other than just a guy who wanted to try to put on a utilitarian type finish on a 1911 .

It was also helpful for me to understand just what Parking is , that is the actual science of what is going on , or what you are trying to accomplish with this procedure. Parkerizing or phosphating is a conversion coating that occures when a part is submerged in a phosphate manganese solution with the temp at 190-200 degrees . Iron is also present in that solution along with some other things like nickel depending upon who makes it . This is from the wiki page and explains it well and simply :

"The process involves submerging the metal part into a phosphoric acid solution whose key ingredient is often zinc or manganese, with varying additional amounts of nitrates, chlorates, and copper. In one of the many processes that have been developed, the solution is heated to a temperature of 190–210 °F (88–99 °C) for a period ranging between 5 and 45 minutes. A stream of small bubbles is emitted from the metal part as the process takes place; when the bubbling stops, the process is complete. In addition to this particular processing temperature, there have also been various similar Parkerizing processes developed and patented that permit using either lower temperatures (for energy efficiency) or higher temperatures (for faster processing)."

Now on to what to get to do the job.