1911Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Men's Tactical Pants

21K views 47 replies 29 participants last post by  RetiredRod 
#1 ·
I would like to start a tread on tactical pants. I am currently looking to purchase a pair. I would like to heard your recommendations. I plan to wear them in warm or hot weather. I have my options narrowed down between Under Armour and 5.11 tactical. I have no experience with 5.11, but love my Under Armour gear. The pants need to be briar resistant, breath well, and dry quickly. All owner recommendations are appreciated.

#2 ·
I love UA tshirts, but all my pants and shorts are 5.11 Tac-Pro. They're very comfortable, hold their color for years, lightweight, sheets water, has dedicated knife/cell phone pockets and pockets galore. Seems like they last forever.

Don't know if they're briar resistant, but they are marketed for hunters too. I haven't found anything else that comes close; but then again, I stopped looking after I discovered them about 5-6 years ago.

Check them out at this link. Notice that they have 400+ reviews, most of which are very positive. On-line pricing varies, so shop around. I use to order them online, then I found a local shop that sells everything 5.11 almost exclusively, at a tremendous discount. Check around locally, especially for shops that target LE.

http://www.511tactical.com/All-Products/Pants/Tactical-Pants/Taclite-Pro-Pants.html

#3 ·
#4 ·
I have swapped wearing jeans for 5.11 pants. The TacLite pants are cool in the summer and are good for rainy days. I also wear the original cotton 5.11 pants. They are comfortable and durable for everyday wear.

I purchase them from LAPoliceGear. They ususally have some sort of promotion going on.

They have an elastic waist band which is comfortable. I have a 33 inch waist and found the TacLite waist to be comfortable in 32 but for the cotton pants, I went up an inch to 34 as they shrink a bit.

#6 ·