LabRadar - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise


Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2020, 12:20 AM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
LabRadar

I searched and found no mention. Our new unit is on the bench, book read and waiting on Wednesday. The weather/mud should allow for the first trial. Iíll do the hand gun and my son the long gun test. My shoulder surgery recovery is far enough along I can bench a non-cannon revolver. Stay tuned.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2020, 07:43 AM
apipeguy's Avatar
apipeguy apipeguy is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Michigan
Age: 64
Posts: 5,074
I’ve had mine for about 2 1/2 years and am very happy with it. Having an external battery/power source is much easier than loading the LabRadar up with batteries.
__________________
David

NRA Benefactor Life Member
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2020, 09:07 AM
JBnTX JBnTX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by apipeguy View Post
I’ve had mine for about 2 1/2 years and am very happy with it. Having an external battery/power source is much easier than loading the LabRadar up with batteries.

I've had mine for about 3 years and I love it.
No problems.

I agree with getting the external battery/power source.
Much cheaper in the long run and more efficient.

I purchased the battery pack with my Labradar and it lasts about 4 trips to the range, then I just plug it into a wall socket and recharge it. It's still going strong after 3 years.

Read the instructions and pay close attention when setting up your Labradar.
90% of problems that people have are from incorrect internal settings.

Set it up right for the type of shooting you're doing and it will work perfectly.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-2020, 10:26 AM
Tim Burke's Avatar
Tim Burke Tim Burke is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NC
Posts: 10,747
There's a definite learning curve, but once you know how to use it, it's great.
__________________
TB., NC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2020, 06:05 PM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
I cannot imagine even putting batteries in the thing, I doubt we ever will. We run drones and the Caldwell camera so usb power has become the norm. We have numerous large capacity usb power packs. We are on a private range with inverters in several trucks. Juice we got. We moved our trial run to tomorrow. Thanks for the info. How much do you guys actually store and download the days sessions via the SD card. Do you use the Bluetooth feature on multiple devices at the same time. The Caldwell will transmit to unlimited gadgets.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2020, 06:33 PM
apipeguy's Avatar
apipeguy apipeguy is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Michigan
Age: 64
Posts: 5,074
I’m only using mine a few times a year when developing a new load. But I use the SD card each time and download it on my laptop. Then I transfer it onto a excel sheet and add some additional information. Gun, weather, load, etc. That gets printed out and put in a three ring notebook.
__________________
David

NRA Benefactor Life Member
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2020, 07:14 PM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by apipeguy View Post
Iím only using mine a few times a year when developing a new load. But I use the SD card each time and download it on my laptop. Then I transfer it onto a excel sheet and add some additional information. Gun, weather, load, etc. That gets printed out and put in a three ring notebook.

Thanks for sharing your system.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2020, 12:11 AM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
Well the LabRadar worked great. My shoulder however said no to the idea of shooting, so the handgun test was abandoned. We did have excellent luck with long guns. We did purchase but did not install the SD card BEFORE we shot. This was my fault. In my mind, we would suck the data out AFTER the fact. Well I need to go back to reading comprehension 101. The rules clearly state you MUST install the card BEFORE. Since we were on station primarily to study the operation of the box, we issued myself non-judicial punishment. We did note the power off while inserting or removing the SD card. The aiming was easy. We only fired the 100 yard range today. The 6.5 Creedmore and 308 clocked without issue. When we saddled the suppressed SBR, no reading. We went back to the rule book, found the suppressed unit/muzzle position change and the issue went away. Suppressed operations will require a different tripod or much deeper bench. The unit must be positioned beyond the muzzle. This requires very long arms to reach the controls or the shooter to be farther back on the bench. We will develop a mounting solution, but suppressed ops are minimal in our tribe. We moved the dormant/sleep timer to 10 min (600 seconds) the entire 5 hrs we were there. It appears one large power pack would run the thing more than 12 hours easy. This 10 lb power pack is the big style you jump cars with not the standard LabRadar auxiliary type. We opted to Pelican-ize the unit rather than the name brand bag. The Pelican cost more but was already in stock from another of my Stan-Gary projects that is pending. I’ll get a picture after the foam plucking session. I am completely satisfied with the purchase including the decision to buy the brand name bench tripod. Steel filled bench bags add stability but bricks in big ziplock bags are effective. Next full set up day Sunday. 73s

Last edited by STORM2; 04-16-2020 at 12:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2020, 02:00 AM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
Follow-up: On site we never even thought about the Bluetooth feature. During a phone discussion with another new LabRadar owner the Bluetooth conversation evolved. I powered the unit up, opened the app on my iPad, let the two swap electric spit and bingo. All of the data is visible on the bigger screen and in better format. It appears that while the remote access has an arm button, you still need access to the unit for projectile weight changes and initial data/units format. This resolves the long arm/suppressor issue except for the muzzle to unit positioning. We have a plan for that also. The iPad app access allows access to the data for the spotter. When we are on the longer range, two iPads will provide the down range view and speeds. This adds much to the game as well as engagement for spectators/family on site. Sitting behind a shooter with ears on can get boring. This changes that with the down range view and data in their lap! The relationship with our dealer just got interesting. Will follow up.

Last edited by STORM2; 04-17-2020 at 02:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2020, 06:15 PM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
Worked two pistols today, both ends of the spectrum. A SW 617 22 and Bodacious (SW 500). The muzzle to LabRadar is sensitive to the published distance. The 22 did require the 6 inch rule compliance. The 500 was 50/50 on registering. I blame that on range distance, and angle relationship to projectile path. The unit is on a table top tripod therefore slightly above a rested hand cannon. These are things we can correct. I just wanted to do more testing. I think the best use for the unit is to plan one format at a time. Switching from long, suppressed, small bore handgun and hand cannon is poor use of time and probably difficult at public ranges and in some private club environments. We are fortunate to be on private land.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2020, 12:28 AM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
I spent some time with the unit and tripod on the bench today. It turns out that the branded tripod is dimensioned allowing the LabRadar to stand/mounted on its side. While causing the display to present at 90 degrees, it positions the unit rested on the bench. This resolves a bench rested handgun being below the unit. We can use the iPad for operation thus the angled unit display is insignificant. This additionally increases the unit stability with 3 tripod legs and the unit side providing a 4th leg. I don’t think the Doppler is conscience of it’s 90 degree down range view of the projectile. We will test this bench prophesy next trip.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-23-2020, 09:39 PM
euclid euclid is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 82
I bought a LabRadar a few months ago to use in an indoor range and it has been great. Read the manual to make sure it’s set up correctly and all is well. No regrets for this purchase!
__________________
Are you a primary master being?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-25-2020, 06:34 AM
CRT2 CRT2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,887
I’ve had my LabRadar for a couple of years. Great product and easy to set-up and use. Determining where to position the device when shooting a rifle with a muzzle brake is the only difficulty. Trial and error - normally.
__________________
LTC USA (ret)
Benefactor Life Member NRA
Dogs are friendly, beware of Owners!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-27-2020, 12:39 AM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
Update: Our unit spent a few days at the mother ship because of what is NOT in the manual. The unit was perfectly fine but....

For many years most of us assumed that if a USB plug fit, it was good to go; apparently not the fact. As I explained earlier, we did/do not use batteries. We used an external power supply with the INCLUDED USB.

The unit had been dropping power as though the cable did not make proper connection. The slightest cable disturbance caused this. Several cables were tried and the male to female connection just did not seem to mate.

They (tech folks) informed me: That the included cable was for data only. Not power. The unit is super sensitive to power fluctuations. If we were going to use external power, it should be the power supply they sell. They informed me that they were able to duplicate my issue with the data cable but not with one of their external power cables.

So the previous thought that if the cable plugs in you can use it APPEARS to be invalid. My understanding of this LabRadar explanation about the cable is lacking. I ordered their battery pack with power cable. The unit should be home in a day or so. I plan to research this cable phenomenon.

I think with the large numbers of outdoor USB powered gadgets with cables we routinely swap/exchange and use for power and/or data transfer the manufacturer would have specified this cable/power restriction in the manual or web site. They informed me that this issue was previously know and other units had been returned multiple times for damage caused from external power packs. Perhaps the data/power port should be split and two different plug types should be used.

Any Micro USB Cable experts out there who might shed some light on this ?

Last edited by STORM2; 04-27-2020 at 12:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-27-2020, 07:23 AM
JBnTX JBnTX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by STORM2 View Post
They (tech folks) informed me: That the included cable was for data only. Not power. The unit is super sensitive to power fluctuations. If we were going to use external power, it should be the power supply they sell.
I've used the power supply they sell for 3 years and it's worked perfectly.
I'll bet that will fix your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-02-2020, 11:59 PM
SG29736 SG29736 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 484
Are these more accurate then the typical chronograph.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-03-2020, 10:11 AM
Jim Watson Jim Watson is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Florence, Alabama, USA
Posts: 21,428
I don't know if it is any more accurate, but it is a vast convenience if you need to chronograph on a busy range.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-03-2020, 12:37 PM
Tim Burke's Avatar
Tim Burke Tim Burke is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NC
Posts: 10,747
And more flexible.
__________________
TB., NC
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-04-2020, 08:50 AM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
So the newest lessons reviewed are: Buy their power supply and buy their SD card (the old fashioned big one, not the hybrid small inside big case), install/remove the SD card POWER OFF, the iPad keyboard is a better control panel than the built in buttons. Everyone agrees the ride is worth the ticket price. I’ll add their tripod is well engineered and probably under priced.

Last edited by STORM2; 05-04-2020 at 08:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-04-2020, 06:43 PM
cavelamb cavelamb is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Heart of Texas
Posts: 3,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by SG29736 View Post
Are these more accurate then the typical chronograph.



I would argue that this is not really true.

My bud has a LabRadar and we have set up his LR and my Competition Electronics side by side for tests.

They read within rounding error of each other.

The LR is a lot more CAPABLE since it can give velocity at several different distances.

I wish I could afford one!
But my CE does the job very well.
__________________
-
NRA Life Member - NRA RSO - NRA Pistol Instructor
Texas State Rifle Assoc. - Gun Owners of America
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-04-2020, 07:22 PM
tightloops tightloops is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Lebanon, Socialist Republic of CT
Posts: 1,014
Plus's
Sunny/cloudy/indoors,,, it works
No need to go down range to set up
Don't need Labradar's power pack, any aftermarket pack works fine
You need to be a REALLY BAD shot to shoot this chrono!!
__________________
NRA Benefactor Life Member
GOA Member
2nd Amendment Foundation Member
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-04-2020, 07:41 PM
STORM2's Avatar
STORM2 STORM2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by tightloops View Post
Plus's
Sunny/cloudy/indoors,,, it works
No need to go down range to set up
Don't need Labradar's power pack, any aftermarket pack works fine
You need to be a REALLY BAD shot to shoot this chrono!!
Be cautious when you say ANY power pack. The unit is sensitive to spikes. 12v auto jump boxes with 5.2v USB ports are known to have fried the guts internally. SOURCE: LabRadar.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-04-2020, 08:38 PM
tightloops tightloops is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Lebanon, Socialist Republic of CT
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by STORM2 View Post
Be cautious when you say ANY power pack. The unit is sensitive to spikes. 12v auto jump boxes with 5.2v USB ports are known to have fried the guts internally. SOURCE: LabRadar.
When I say "any" I was talking of the small 10000mAh, 24000mAh etc like you would use to recharge a cell phone. I can easily run my Labradar all day on one. No need for something any bigger.
__________________
NRA Benefactor Life Member
GOA Member
2nd Amendment Foundation Member
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


NOTICE TO USERS OF THIS SITE: By continuing to use this site, you certify that you have read and agree to abide by the Legal Terms of Use. All information, data, text or other materials ("Content") posted to this site by any users are the sole responsibility of those users. 1911Forum does not guarantee the accuracy, integrity, or quality of such Content.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2015 1911Forum.com, LLC. All Rights Reserved