How does a parkerized finish hold up? - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 02-15-2009, 08:48 AM

How does a parkerized finish hold up?

Just ordered my first parkerized gun, a RIA Compact Tactical and being I have no experience with the finish, was wondering how long the nice looking finish will last. Would it better to use a leather or a plastic holster like a Fobus?

What is the difference between parkerized and bluing....and which is more durable?

I owned a Bul M-5 and it came with a dark finish but I honestly don't know what kind of finish it was. All I know is I owned for just a few months before seeing holster wear on the slide. Sent the slide off to Tripp for his Cobrachrome.

Thanks in advance for any info!

EDIT* Almost forgot that the description of my gun said is was "Dura Coat". It is NIB and the outfit selling them has quite a few on auction (Gunsamerica). When I asked the seller about the coating he could not confirm the dura coat claim....yet he is a one man show and had to have written the description himself. The pics of the guns do seem to be quite darker than some of the other RIA on auction. Is it possible that RIA made some Dura Coat guns for a certain distributor or something?

Dan Wesson CBOB
Detonics USA Service Master Compact
Detonics USA Combat Master

Last edited by fugedaboudit; 02-15-2009 at 08:58 AM.
Old 02-15-2009, 09:10 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parkerize

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluing_(steel)

The Military generally has Parked weapons. The coating holds in a little oil helping protect the gun. Bluing is prettier when done right IMO.

Any coating/treatment wears and Parkerizing is not the "best" out there, but it's pretty good.

Edit: Leather will be easier on the finish.
Old 02-15-2009, 10:41 AM