Hand to Hand defense? - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 12-04-2008, 08:17 AM

Hand to Hand defense?

I have been on this board only a short time and I have have read many discussions about self defense with a fire arm, carry laws, engagements, and tactical shooting.

I am wondering how many out there has ever had training on hand-to-hand self defense or non-lethal defense?

For instance, I hold 2 black-belts in Hapkido and I am working on my third. One BB in Aikido, and I am currently studying Jun Fan and Kali.

Along with the techniques, I have picked up some conflicting philosophy from each of these arts. One states "Subdue your opponent with as little personal harm possible." Another form takes and "Eye-for-an-Eye" approach. Give back what you are given. The other form follows more of a "Stomp his guts out and end it as quickly as possible." All of them follow a defensive attitude.

In any case, I am not allowed to carry where I live because I am supposed to believe that the police and the government are going to take care of me. So I go with that I can.
Old 12-04-2008, 08:20 AM

It's my belief that the various martial arts are a good thing and quite useful, right up until someone introduces a weapon into the mix. After that, it's a knife or gun fight.
Old 12-04-2008, 08:24 AM

Take away your opponents will and or ability to fight. Nothing more, nothing less.
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2008, 09:24 AM

Quote:
"Stomp his guts out and end it as quickly as possible."
This is the way I was taught.

I'm 54-years old, survived a stroke in July '08, I have a bad knee, and a bad back, if I'm attacked by someone and it becomes hand-to-hand, I revert to training and my training dictates the guy that comes in second is dead.
Old 12-04-2008, 09:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD View Post