Weird 1911 question - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 10-31-2008, 06:46 PM

Weird 1911 question

I have a Taurus PT1911 (no bashing please) that, apparently, was in the "good" production batch as I've really had no problems with. I'm having a custom grip maker making me some real nice dark curly Hawaiian Koa grips.

The question with this gun is that the hex cap screws for the grip on either side of the gun are different size. That is a different size hex wrench is required for each side in order to take off the grips. Is this common with all 1911s straight from the manufacturer or just Taurus's stupid thing? I want to get new cap screws for the new grips that are the same size.

If you want to know the exact sizes required, I can get them quickly, after all I was a machinist for 4 years.

Thanks in advance!
Old 10-31-2008, 06:52 PM

Personally I have never heard of a gun needing or having different size screws, etc for each side. You may need to get new bushings also if they are different. Pretty weird IMO!
Old 10-31-2008, 06:54 PM

No they should be the same size. You can get replacements at many gun stores or from Midway or Brownells or Wilson Combat or Ed Brown...etcetera. Personally I like slotted screws.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2008, 06:55 PM

Taurus makes good guns, like all they have lemons....

Anyhow that is not normal from what I understand, and mine (springer) has them the same size. I know ed brown and other sells the grip screw mounts. I guess replace those and get new grip skrews and you should be good to go...that is the mount holes or what ever they are called are the same size.
Old 10-31-2008, 06:58 PM

Sounds like they stripped out the bushings on one side, then sold it with oversized ones. Nice QC!
Both sizes are available thru Brownells.
Old 10-31-2008, 06:59 PM

(jogged memory fades)