1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-28-2020, 04:42 PM

Beavertail for Alloy Lightweight Hi Power

Hi Guys,

Does anyone have an alloy Hi Power with a beavertail? I realize it is very different to weld a beavertail on a steel frame verses welding something onto an aluminum frame. Does anyone know if this has been successfully done and who might have the skills/desire to try?

Thanks for the advice,

Scott

Old Army Customs
Old 03-28-2020, 04:59 PM

I have no knowledge of anyone doing this, but if anyone can it would be Pullman Arms in Worchester MA. They are used by several of the top tier smiths for difficult welding.

Pullman Arms
Dan Harvey – Lead Gunsmith
Monday - Friday 9:00 AM- 4:30 PM
33 Pullman St.
Worcester, MA 01606
{ t } 508.926.8730
{ f } 508.853.0843
email: [email protected]
gunsmith email: [email protected]
Old 03-28-2020, 06:53 PM

Don Williams of the Action Works does this. He and I discussed doing this to the full-house alloy frame Hi Power he built for me, but I ultimately decided not to. I believe he is a member here, but you might reach out to him to discuss it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-28-2020, 06:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPC View Post
Don Williams of the Action Works does this. He and I discussed doing this to the full-house alloy frame Hi Power he built for me, but I ultimately decided not to. I believe he is a member here, but you might reach out to him to discuss it.
Thanks guys. I have spoken with Don many times on the forums but not about this subject. I should have thought of him first for sure.

Scott

Old Army Customs
Old 03-28-2020, 08:03 PM

Don't do it!!!
Learn how to hold the darned thing the right way... install SFS or a no bite hammer!
Old 03-29-2020, 05:37 AM