Looking for some advice - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 07-18-2019, 07:44 PM

Looking for some advice

I know that 1911 forum might not be technically the place to do this, but, I have typically had VERY helpful answers here and I know there is a lot of military here.

I am NOT a novice shooter, I have been shooting for years, however most of my time has been spent on Mausers, clones of old west style guns, or comblock stuff, and I am really proficient (maybe not compared to pros) with my notch based sights, like on my 6.5 Mauser, but when I grab something with ghost ring sights, my accuracy immediately drops. So I know it is me, as I struggled with my dads Garand back in the day, my buddies M1A National Match, or even an SMLE with the ghost ring, or as I heard them described "peep sights".

I have been told since I can hit very well with my mauser at the 400 yard target at the range I go to for longer distance stuff that I should be killing it with a "better sight" however each time I try them, I do not do as well.

This is clearly me, I have no professional training on them and I was medically unable to enlist when I was in my teens, but I have been shooting for 34 years, and I have taught many others on rifles and sidearms, usually from my own collection which is all notch or buckhorn sights like my 30-30.

For you military guys, I know that rifle marksmanship is taught in boot, can I get some of the basics you are taught, as the ease that vets use those sights on any firearm shows that training was definitely good.
Is there a youtube video(s) you would recommend as being factual for me to watch to learn from, and so far I have learned lots form there, tips form Jerry Miculek helped my side arm abilities a LOT.