Firearms Instructor Training - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 11-05-2019, 08:20 AM

Firearms Instructor Training

I am planning on retiring from my job next August (after 31 years). Time to change things up a bit! I would like to get certified as a Firearms Instructor.
I am a Vet and have had firearms training as well as carried in the service. I am an avid shooter and am a member of an awesome range. I am attending Gunsite Academy's 250 Pistol class in 3 weeks in Arizona. I will also be taking the NRA's Firearm Instructor class when I get back. My Dad was a State Trooper so I have been around guns, respect guns/gun safety my whole life.
Any other classes, information, or recommendations that I should pursue to become an instructor?

Thanks in Advance for any input.

Gary
Old 11-05-2019, 08:35 AM
Super Moderator

As an instructor, my personal belief is that it is beneficial to always take training with other instructors; always something to learn, whether it is techniques in shooting, gun handling, or instructing. Some of the best instructors I've taken multiple classes from are Ken Hackathorn (retired now and not giving classes anymore), Rob Leatham, Larry Vickers, Bill Wilson, and on my "next" list is Ernie Langdon, Mike Seeklander, and Paul Howe. There are plenty of good ones like the Gunsite class you've signed up for, and Thunder Ranch, so look at the ones that have good reputations in the business. I always learn something new with each of them.

Army M.P. 1971 - 1972
Wilsons: Several; Kimbers: 10mm (Wilsonized), .38S (Wilson barrel)
Old 11-06-2019, 03:44 PM

Tom Givens has an instructor program, I'd look into that.

I'd also suggest training with everyone Grandpa50AE mentioned.

Shoot local IDPA and USPSA matches to improve your skills.

Don't use these cliché sayings :

*Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.
*Fine vs gross motorskills