N00b shooting advice - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 05-25-2020, 01:54 PM

N00b shooting advice

I like to shoot with a WW2 standard issue, 1942 1911A1 Ithica.
I started shooting it with my grandfather when I was 8. Then have started shooting it in the last year, 45 years later.

When I use correct form, stance, line it up, take my time, breathe, etc. I shoot pretty well. 15 yards has a nice grouping, 25 yards I hit the silhouette. Good but nothing special

But when I just line it up instinctively and shoot out 7 rounds, I do better.

More on target, better grouping, less gun rise. I can do a double to the center of mass and one to the head in a second. Lining up takes about 20 times longer.

What am I doing wrong?
Old 05-25-2020, 02:50 PM

I find this isn't that unusual. Especially if your grip, trigger pull and recoil management is sound.

I can shoot better groups at 25 yards, at practical speed, than I can if I have no time limit. Practical speed meaning firing each subsequent shot as soon as my sights return from recoil and the sight picture is acceptable for the accuracy I desire.

I think this is because as soon as you see the required sight picture, you're firing the shot. It also gives you less time to think about the explosion that's about to occur and hence, less likely to react to it. Further, when you hold a sight picture for too long, you're going to get oscillation in your sight and, at least for me, a little build of anxiety with trying to figure out when to best drop the hammer.