Hornady's One Shot to lube internals? - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 04-07-2020, 10:31 AM

Hornady's One Shot to lube internals?

I have a Colt Series 80 that's sitting in a mineral spirits bath right now and I'm trying to figure out the best way to get it lubed once I take it out since I've never done this kind of thing before. I dropped the frame in with all of the internals still intact hoping to avoid further disassembly and I was wondering if hitting it with a dose of One Shot from the top would be sufficient to take care of all of those parts. If not, what is your advice? I know putting oil in there isn't advisable since it will eventually gather dirt and gunk up, so I figured a dry lube like this would be good. Is it ok to let those parts just run dry and not worry about it? Does anyone know what treatment Colt gives the internals from the factory? A light lubing or none at all?

EDIT: Also, will the mineral spirits just evaporate or is that all going to have to be dried by hand?

Last edited by enormitydave; 04-07-2020 at 12:49 PM.
Old 04-07-2020, 12:40 PM

I would not recommend one shot for this purpose.

It is not really made for that and is really only designed for a very short lived purpose of allowing you to reform brass, a one time thing.

Lots of people will tell you different things to do. And there is not necessarily a one size fits all solution for every set of circumstances. You mentioned oil and your concern about it attracting dirt. That is a legitimate concern. But you can mitigate that by just using a small amount of it. That is really the way to go in my book.

Personally I use three in one oil in the summer time, and Kano Kroil in the winter. Just a couple of drops and I have never had an issue. If you get too much in there just blow it out with some compressed air.
Old 04-07-2020, 12:47 PM