Demise of PXT Extractor.... - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-07-2015, 03:47 PM

Demise of PXT Extractor....

First time I ever took out and cleaned PXT extractor from my 9mm P12 Hawg. Although I have had never any problems with this, I just received the newer EGW large replacement ( no, did not change it). Although I am a retired Mechanical Engineer I am not an expert in this. This is just my observation! In a way, the PXT works similar to the external extractor but designed to work inside. Uses a spring to power it just like an X design. I can't understand why it did not work as well as an external one like the Sigs and S & W 1911. I know they tweaked and redesigned but was still prone to failures. If I could I would stay within design as I really don't care for regular extractor that also needs to be tweaked now and then as they lose tension eventually. Spring tends to hold their tension much much longer than any metal bent to keep pressure! Anyway, hope I get comments and flaks are also fine! I'm retired and got all the time in the world,lol!
p.s. I think this was brilliant design someone should have picked up on!

Last edited by alejandrino; 03-07-2015 at 03:49 PM.
Old 03-07-2015, 04:40 PM