Long term storage for loading dies. - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Old 01-10-2017, 12:43 AM

Long term storage for loading dies.

I am moving to the Pacific coast and I need ideas to protect my dies for possibly a year long period of storage. I want to use something to treat the dies that will be easy to remove, and still keep the dies from rusting in the high humidity. I was thinking about maybe using a synthetic bearing grease and wrap each die in saran wrap and put them back in their cases. Does anyone have any other suggestions that might be better than grease? I do worry that grease might be a pain to clean off the dies when it's time to put them back to use. Thank you in advance.
Old 01-10-2017, 01:41 AM

Breakfree Collector. Google it. Prevents corrosion for 5 years with one application. I have been using it on my safe queens for about 15 years now and it does not turn to varnish and has prevented any rusting. My safe does not contain any kind of Goldenrod or heater - just dessicant packs. Grease WOULD be far too much trouble to remove and it's not necessary anyway. I use it on my Lee dies and store them on a shelf in the plastic container they came in. Apply a thin coat with a small paint brush. Just check the dies (or guns) every once in a while. Pull them out and wipe them off with a rag and they're ready to go. If you can't find any Breakfree Collector then use Cosmoline - but will be a pain in the ass to remove. Regular auto bearing grease will turn to a sticky solid over time if exposed to air.

Last edited by drail; 01-10-2017 at 02:16 AM.
Old 01-10-2017, 02:00 AM

I have dies sitting on the shelf with nothing for more than a year. Heck, they probably sat in inventory longer than that. If I was worried I would either spray them with barricade or Hornady one shot. Probably barricade.
Old 01-10-2017, 02:12 AM