Coonan .357 Mag 1911 - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 08-31-2014, 07:43 PM

Coonan .357 Mag 1911

I'm a range officer at a large club so I've seen and shot just about everything.

Yesterday was a new one for me. Guy comes over and asks if I'd like to see his new 1911. Always curious I took a look. It said "Coonan 357 Mag" on the slide. The gun looked like a 1911 but I'm sure there were plenty of internal differences.

It was a single stack and I was a bit surprised that you could cram a full length 357 into a 1911. Heck I had enough trouble getting my National Match 38 special to run reliably.

When offered to shoot it I said of course and the guy gave me a magazine with 5 rounds (all we're allowed to shoot at our club). It felt like a 1911 but the trigger pull was stout and was the recoil. Even more surprisingly was it ran flawlessly and all shots were in the black despite the heavy trigger.

Just curious if anyone has seen one and what are the differences between a Coonan an a conventional 1911.
Old 08-31-2014, 08:24 PM

"If you're looking for you first gun, this isn't it". Nice slogan, huh? I'd love to have one but $1500 for what would just be a toy means I probably never will. They have an interesting website.

joe

Read Ayn Rand
Old 08-31-2014, 08:39 PM

Coonan pistols are loosely based on the 1911 design, but no part interchange, I believe.

Member kurmudgon used to work for Coonan and can probably answer any question you might have. I sent him a PM to please weigh in on this thread.

See https://forums.1911forum.com/showthre...ghlight=coonan

https://forums.1911forum.com/showthre...ghlight=coonan

Last edited by subscriber; 08-31-2014 at 08:41 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2014, 06:50 PM

I have a Coonan and it's one of my favorites. I know there are at least a dozen parts that will interchange, maybe more.