Help With 1911 Reassembly - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 12-22-2019, 03:48 PM

Help With 1911 Reassembly

Gun: Remington 1911 Recon 9mm double stack. Other than being in 9mm double stack, and with updated sights, it is similar to any other 1911.

Issues: (1) after replacing the slide assembly and inserting the slide lock lever, the slide would not go far enough forward to put the safety on safe. From what I could tell, the barrel wasn't quite going into battery. Removed slide; rechecked barrel and guide rod; reinstalled. On the fourth time, it worked, but I still do not know what was wrong. Any suggestions?

(2) Reinstalling spring plug. What can I say except it is a PITA (Pain in, etc.) Does anyone have any tips or tricks to make it easier?

Note: I have been carrying and shooting a 1911 for more than nine years. But my previous pistol was a Kimber CDP Pro in .45. It had a captive recoil spring, so did not have a barrel bushing or spring plug. I've had the Remington for a year, love carrying and shooting it, but still find reassembly to be a PITA. I know the original was designed to be lubed under combat conditions, so there has to be an easier way? Or isn't there?

Thanks in advance to any responses. Hope all readers have a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, or whatever makes you happy.
Old 12-22-2019, 03:59 PM

I'm no expert, but make sure the barrel link hole is what you're inserting the slide stop pin into. It's easy to miss it.
Old 12-22-2019, 04:19 PM

X2 for missing the hole in the link.
Advertisement

Old 12-22-2019, 10:57 PM