Overall case length 9mm Luger flat vs round nose - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 05-25-2019, 08:21 PM

Overall case length 9mm Luger flat vs round nose

Hi guy’s, i’m just getting started reloading, 9mm Luger, Hodgdon CFE powder 4.9-5.5g, (thinking for the 4.9g, just punching paper), Berry’s 124g flat nose copper plated bullets. The Hodgdon reloading data shows an overall case length of 1.150 but doesn’t differentiat between a flat nose and a round nose for overall length which affect the seating depth. I measured a couple of Winchester 115g flat nosed service Grade rounds that measure 1.113-1.116in overall length. I then measured several blazer brass 124g round nose that measured at 1.49 to 1.53in.

Am I thinking right that the flat nosed rounds should be seated to provide an overall length of around the 1.115in ?

I also have a new Sierra reloading manual that basically says a max length of 1.169in and also doesn’t differentiate over bullet profiles. Am I over thinking this ? What say you ?

Last edited by passx; 05-25-2019 at 08:27 PM.
Old 05-25-2019, 09:03 PM

Case length?
I believe you are talking about Over All Length. OAL.

I can't tell you a recipe for your gun and that bullet.
In general, the loaded round must fit the chamber ("Plunk"), it must fit the magazine, and feed from magazine to chamber.
Start at 1.115" and see if it works. Don't load a whole lot until you have tested.

1.169" is an absolute maximum, possible only with the rather pointy roundnose seen in a lot of factory.
Old 05-25-2019, 09:20 PM

Buy some reloading manuals and read up on coloring the bullet with a black marker or Sharpie to determine cartridge COAL.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-25-2019, 09:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Watson View Post
Case length?
I believe you are talking about Over All Length. OAL.