1970 Colt Commander - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 03-04-2020, 04:52 PM

1970 Colt Commander

Have the opportunity to pick up a Commander with alloy frame built in 1970. The guy that has it is a retired LEO and bought it new. He claims he has only put about 500 rounds through it but carried it often, hence the holster wear. I am not experienced with Colts so don’t know if it’s worth buying over something newer. Would it be a good base for a build?
Attached Thumbnails
31F2C011-917B-4816-B60C-0B0FAD4B5B46_1583362347526.png  
Old 03-04-2020, 08:15 PM

I think it's a good gun, but what is he looking to get for it? Brand new commanders from Colt are running about $900.
Old 03-04-2020, 08:57 PM

That slide looks rusted and/or pitted. The plum color sometimes develops after 40-50 years (especially with holster carry), so it could be correct for a 70's vintage, but it could also be a sign that the slide was reblued. If you have the opportunity, take the grips off and check the frame as well--the aluminum won't rust but it can corrode and rubber grips are known to trap moisture.

All said and done, if the price is right for you, buy it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2020, 09:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vulcanator View Post
i think it's a good gun, but what is he looking to get for it? Brand new commanders from colt are running about $900.
Old 03-05-2020, 12:40 AM

550$ is max top end on that gun.

Even if it is all clean inside I would no way go over five bills. And just so you know. When you go to buy a used gun. Buy the gun, not the story.

Unless you know what you are looking at when you examine it. You will likely be a lot happier spending a little more money on a nicer gun. Or better yet save up and buy a new one. You will get much nicer gun with a good warranty. You can hunt around and get new ones for about eight bills and change.