1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > General > General Gun Discussion

Old 06-19-2004, 09:17 AM

Single vs. Double Stack 1911 Pistols

I am just new with 1911 type of pistols and that is why I am asking this question.The question is:Aside from a Double Stack 1911 pistol holding more rounds,what are it's advantages over a Single Stack 1911 pistol?Also,if there are any advantages of a Single Stack 1911 pistol over a Double Stack 1911 pistol,what are they?
THANKS.

baron45
Old 06-19-2004, 09:40 AM

it is easy to find real good magazine for a single stack...
Old 06-19-2004, 10:39 AM

I'd say the ONLY advantage for ME in double-stacks is high cap. But for me, 8+1 rounds of .45 ACP in a very accurate, heavy pistol is all I need. The single stack is less prone to jam, and fits waaaay better my medium size hands.

Alex.
Old 06-19-2004, 11:21 AM

Grip on a single stack is a lot more apt to fit a wider range of hand sizes, more accesories out there, mags are a lot cheaper then a double stack, easier to conceal if ccw carry, seem to be less apt to malfunction as rounds only single stack[especially if dirty] mag springs in single stacks last longer on average. Truth is you really have at most 2 more shots then a 8+1, so whats the big advantage? Big ole DoubleStacks lost a lot of ground when the PCBC did the hi cap ban. The ccw interest also lost them ground in the market in 45 especially. Its a big round to double up, not like a 9 or 40. Heck I carry a Single stack 9mm most of the time in the summer [7+1] and feel reasonably well protected, I would prefer a 45 but hey, shorts and a tee shirt do not make the ideal ccw outfit. [I am still on the sidelines on the chopped 1911 design [3 or 3.5] as I am convinced it's a crapshoot if they work correctly.]
Old 06-19-2004, 11:40 AM

The grip size of the double column weapon makes it a lot harder to IWB CCW.