1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Applications > Competitive Shooting

Old 03-09-2004, 08:46 AM

what is 38 super advantage?

I am very new at this so, educate me.

I am considering building a custom gun for IPSC. I already own a custon single stack .40 but was considering a doublestack for the new build up. My smith already has a couple of 38 supers ready to go. I noticed all the "big dogs" shoot 38 super.

So what are the advantages/dosadvantages for IPSC .40 vs 38?

Thanks,
Shawn
Old 03-09-2004, 09:20 AM

In Limited class the 38 Super is a disadvantage because it can only be scored minor. In Open it rules along with 9 x 23, 38 Supercomp etc. Small bullets pushed by a lot of powder makes a lot of gas to work the comp. The other advantage is mag capacity. You can get 28 rounds in a 170 mm mag.
Old 03-09-2004, 09:36 AM

The biggest advantage to the 38 super is the mag capacity. In my 40 open gun I can only get 21 rounds, however on 99% of the stages I do not feel that puts me at a disavantage. I've heard some say the 40 will not make a comp work as well, I do not believe this to be true. View the video on my web site of me shooting pins in South Connellsville PA with the All Sport Forty, watch the gun instead of the pins and you will see how flat the gun stays in my hands.
Regards
Bob Hunter
(816) 675-2340
www.huntercustoms.com
Old 03-10-2004, 05:39 PM