1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Applications > Competitive Shooting

Old 03-08-2004, 11:12 PM

Need help, I am MISSING!

Ok, The first step is admit you have a problem right? Let me start off by saying that I do not shoot compitition. Mostly I shoot defensive tactics. IDPA style stuff I guess. Anyway, I have been shooting off and on for 15 years and I am former LEO. So, in theory, I know how to shoot. However, I was missing right all day today. This is the first time I have had this problem. Here is the practice stage I had set up. 10 yards out I have a standard IDPA target on a stand. Right next to it, I have a steel plate that is IDPA target shaped, but about 1/4 size. On the buzzer, I would draw, double tap the big target and then single on the small one. My average time is 1.7 sec to draw and fire, .18 sec for the double tap, and .65 sec to transition and fire at the plate. I don't know how fast you compitition guys do it, but that is as fast as I can do it and hit both targets with all three rounds. However, today I was shooting everything to the right (and missing!). My average results today was miss, hit, miss. When I slowed way down (3 sec draw aim and fire, .3 double tap and 1+ sec transition) I hit everything. Is there anything that is a common mistake I should be looking for? And FWIW, I use a modified weaver stance with a 1911 gov model. Thanks for any advice I can get.
Old 03-08-2004, 11:38 PM

Gee, from the thread title I am glad you found you. Hehehehe...oh well, I tried.

Seriously though, you had some pretty good times in transition and on the double tap. It sounds like you are trying to "run" too fast and either framing the shot and jumping on the trigger or looking at the target while letting the shot go. You were correct, IMHO, to slow down and reassess your shooting ability without shooting fast.