1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Applications > Tactics & Personal Defense

Old 04-01-2003, 02:08 AM

Cocked and Locked- how long before springs are damaged?

Hey, I'm a newbie, so forgive my ignorance.

I have no problem leaving my Sig 229 DA/SA loaded with one in the pipe because I use the decocking lever to lower the hammer, and it can sit for months like that. No strain on the hammer spring.

What about a 1911? If you left it in condition 3 for months or possibly years would it stretch (weaken) the hammer spring? Even if you take it to the range and fire it every month or so, it would still be spending 99.9% of its time sitting in the cocked and locked position.

Well?

madkiwi
Old 04-01-2003, 02:39 AM

You can leave a 1911 in Condition 1 (cocked and locked) for years. There are reports of people leaving guns cocked for very long periods of time.

If the thought still bothers you, unload the gun completely every 6 months or every year, make sure there is no magazine inserted, no bullet in the chamber. Then, insert a pen or an unsharpened pencil (edited: rubber eraser may dampen the force) into the barrel and point the gun straight up. Fire. If the pencil flies out with vigour, your mainspring has enough juice in it.

Don't forget to cycle out ammunition and clean the gun at least every 6 months to a year, out of precaution. Search the forum on maintenance articles and how to prevent rust in long-term storage.

Andrew

Last edited by Colden; 04-01-2003 at 02:41 AM.
Old 04-01-2003, 06:50 AM

The Series 70 I'm carrying now, I've been carrying cocked and locked since I traded for it in the early to mid 1980's. It's had over 40,000 rounds fired through it, and it's still as close to perfect as a handgun can get. I rotate my carry magazines after each practice session, one in the pistol and two spares. The same nine magazines set aside for this duty 20 years ago, are still on duty.