1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > USGI/Foreign Military and other Vintage 1911s

Old 12-29-2013, 02:45 PM

What can you tell me about this old Colt 1911?

Hello there. This is my first post as I am new to 1911's in general. I normally hang out at http://ingunowners.com where I keep up on open and concealed carry issues in my home state of Indiana.

I received as a present, an old Colt 1911. I was told it was made in 1952 but I suspect it is actually older and want you Colt 1911 gurus to take a look.

So as not to duplicate too much, you can check out my thread at ingunowners.com http://ingunowners.com/forums/handgu...what-gift.html

Here are some pictures:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ec0itwh8s67stwm/IMG_1373.JPG
https://www.dropbox.com/s/00p8zz0d29yg4mi/IMG_1374.JPG
https://www.dropbox.com/s/bp403n7ow41gtyz/IMG_1375.JPG

There is no serial number that I can find. It may be a "lunchbox" gun.

I suspect this gun is older than 1952 but would appreciate hearing from someone who knows about Colt 1911's.

Like I mentioned. This is my first 1911. I was an Army officer (many years ago) and got to qualify with 1911's there but that is about the extent of my experience with them. I do own and carry other firearms.

Any history or information to help me appreciate this 1911 would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Tom
Old 12-29-2013, 02:49 PM
Administrator

It is a late 1918 or early 1919 US Model of 1911 with the original serial number filed off and the piece refinished. Unfortunately such a pistol is illegal to possess. We seem to have a thread on pistols like this at least once a month.

It wouldn't be a lunchbox gun because it has the Springfield final acceptance stamp.