1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Parts and Accessories Bin

Old 03-13-2013, 05:39 PM

Do all 1911 magazines have the same outside dimensions

regardless of caliber?? I know this probably seams like a silly question as you need to use the correct caliber magazine for the gun you are shooting, but there is a method to my madness.

I am fairly new to the 1911. I have 2 and 1/2 of them:

9mm
22 Kimber conversion kit

I don't like the plastic magazine that came with my conversion kit and was wondering if a metal magazine for a factory 1911 22 would work in my 45 with the 22 conversion. I know my 9mm magazine fits in my 45 but didn't know if other calibers like the 22 used thinner magazine shapes and a receiver specific to a thinner magazine. Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited by Daze; 03-13-2013 at 05:52 PM.
Old 03-13-2013, 06:02 PM
1911 Aficionado

The maximum dimensions for the tubes should be the same, but the feedlips, followers, and internal tube dimensions are generally different for every caliber.
Old 03-13-2013, 06:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickB View Post
The maximum dimensions for the tubes should be the same, but the feedlips, followers, and internal tube dimensions are generally different for every caliber.
Thanks for the information. So do you think the magazines for a factory 22 and a 22 conversion would be interchangeable???
Old 03-13-2013, 06:51 PM

Too clever question - do a search on mixing and matching .22 rim fire magazines in the 1911 World. Fit and function are not the same thing.