1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Para USA

Old 12-16-2012, 07:48 PM

Para-Ord P14-45 Tour Pistol Troubleshooting

Hello everyone,

I'm new to both this forum and the 1911 platform. That being said I have extensive experience with Browning HP MK III platform, as well as Glocks and SIGS.

Long story short, I have a para-ord P14 45 Tour pistol what was made available to members of the Canadian Forces after tours in Afghanistan. I eventually took it to the range a couple of months ago to try it out. ( In Canada you can only take handguns to designated shooting ranges that are approved and listed on your transportation documents and restricted firearms license.) Thus it took a long time before I had an opportunity to test it out.

The first 30 rounds went very well but then I started having issues with rounds failing to feed. The firearm wouldn't go all the way into battery or would fail to load the next round. There were also a few occaisons where there were failures to extract and a partial double feed.

I rotated my way through the 4 magazines, all with similar results. So after about 100 rounds total, I gave up and went home to do some research.

I was using American Eagle 230 grain FMJ .45 ammo but I may not have lubricated the firearm properly based on my research. So I did a full field strip and cleaning with lubrication according to the manual.

I returned to the range the following week and went through the same issues. I have done this off an on for a couple of months to get through the "break in" round count. I pretty much always had similar results. I think I had one trip where I was able to shoot about 50 rounds without any major issues.

My last 2 trips I tried different ammo. Same issues. I have been storing my magazines fully loaded to break in the springs but that has not seemed to help. I also have had issues with magazines not wanting to seat all the way.