1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Ammo Can

Old 09-09-2012, 04:21 PM

1942 dated .45 ACP ball

When I acquired my USGI 1911A1 recently I was also given a box of 1942 dated ammo. I have been advised the ammo is probably corrosive or mildly corrosive. Not sure what the difference between corrosive and mildly corrosive is (I would suppose it's like pregnant and kinda pregnant?).

My primary question is, I've never used corrosive ammo before, so IF I were to ever shoot this ammo what precautions should I take afterwards with the firearm?

Old 09-09-2012, 04:36 PM

It may have value to a collector and allow you to buy new ammo by selling it.

If you were to shoot it you would want to do a complete and thorough cleaning and lube.

Pistol Brass For Sale
http://forums.1911forum.com/showthread.php?t=433516
Old 09-09-2012, 05:03 PM
Administrator

"Mildly corrosive" means the primers have corrosive compounds in it, as opposed to stuff that uses corrosive smokeless powder as well. Nonetheless this stuff WILL cause rust so make sure you clean the weapon out thoroughly with hot soap and water, or else a bore cleaner using ammonia. Oil well afterwards and you should be okay.

I will agree with yankee2500 however that its value as a collectible is starting to outweigh its utility as range ammo, especially if it is still in the original box.
Try not to fall into the common trap of wanting to replace everything on your new 1911 just to make it "better". Know what you're changing out, and why. You may spend a lot of money fixing things that weren't broken to begin with. Shoot it for at least 500 rounds, then decide what you don't like and want improved. Vintage 1911's should NEVER be refinished or modified because it ruins any value they had as a collectible firearm.
Old 09-09-2012, 06:39 PM

Are you able to take any photos from various angles to show us what the box looks like?