1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Ammo Can

Old 07-09-2012, 07:01 PM

The most accurate .45 acp for target shooting.

I just purchased 1911 Kimber Gold Match II .45 and would like to know which amo is the most accurate for Bullseye shooting competition. I was competing in Olympic style in .22 cal and this is my first time using .45 acp. I would appreciate any advise from target shooters.
Old 07-09-2012, 07:34 PM

Look up asym precision. Stan makes very high quality stuff. Also federal gold medal match.

wilson combat tactical L.E., Browning hi power, Gemini customs GP100, Springfield XDS, mossberg 500
Old 07-09-2012, 07:50 PM

asym precision

This ammo shoots where you want it.
Old 07-09-2012, 08:19 PM

Ever consider reloading?
Old 07-09-2012, 08:44 PM

Yes, I'm considering reloading too. As I mentioned I've only used .22 and always lead bullets. I was wondering when it comes to .45 where does lead bullet vs FMJ stand when it's reloaded? Is there a disadvantage using lead bullets for target shooting?
Old 07-09-2012, 09:14 PM

Some of the most accurate loads are lead. The 200 grain LSWC H&G #68 is considered by a lot of bullseye shooters to be "THE" go to boolit.

There is some difference when it comes to shooting them. For instance lead bullets will smoke a little more because of the lube that is used. You can run into some leading issues if you are not loading properly. Most of these are easy fixes and you will learn quickly if you observe how your dies work and tailor your loads.

What is really nice about reloading, especially if you are shooting bullseye... You get to shoot a ton. I mean a lot more, I currently load a 200 grain LSWC that duplicates Wilson's load for under $6 per 50, yes that's $12 per 100 rounds.