1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Gunsmithing & Troubleshooting

Old 06-14-2012, 08:59 AM

TW25b grease

I've used Tetra for a long time. Im fairly new to 1911's and I have been using the Tetra on the barrel/slide lugs and also applying a very thin film on the slide and frame rails before oiling the rails. I've lubricated my CZ 75 like this long before I bought my first 1911. The Tetra is heavy and tends to stay behind even when oiling over it.

I just picked up some of the Mill-Com TW25b as it seems to be a very popular lubricant and wanted to try it. I know it's indicated as a light grease. Lighter than I thought it would be. Not an oil but more like the consistency of a "lotion" than a grease, but that's nothing more than semantics on my part. Anyway, for those of you who use the TW25b, and specific to your 1911's, where do you use it and how do you apply? ... ie. as the only lube for the slide/barrel locking lugs? On the rails by itself or with oil? etc.

Im also curious as to the properties of this stuff ... in other words, does it "treat" the metal such that there is still lubrication left behind if/when the TW25b is gone? ... kind of like Militec 1 is reported to do?

Sorry if this is a strange question. I know it's not rocket science. Just wanted to give this lube a try and would like some input/opinions from those of you who have been using it and prefer it.

Last edited by Laudanum; 06-14-2012 at 09:02 AM.
Old 06-14-2012, 09:16 AM

If it slides, lightly grease it. If you want too.
All other moveable parts get oil lubed. If you want too.
Main thing is to just keep it lubed. Even if you don't want too. LOL
Just lube the dang thang and go shootin. LOL
Dave
SEMPER FI
Old 06-14-2012, 09:24 AM

I agree. It almost doesn't matter what lube you use.