1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Kimber

Old 05-22-2012, 02:27 PM

Kimber custom II vs Remington R1 Enhanced

I'm totally new to this but am I right wanting to get the Kimber due to no machining for the correct night sights and seeing how Remington just got back in the 1911 game recently. I think back in the day it was Remington and Rand but like i said l'm totally new to this 1911 game and need good advice. I can't really afford colt or Wilson or ed brown but I can afford the enhanced and custom. Take it easy on me please and thanks for any advice.
Old 05-22-2012, 03:32 PM

So, am I understanding this right? You want to buy a Custom II because of the way the machine cuts are for the "correct" nightsights you want to install at a later date?

You could save yourself time and money and look into the Custom TLE II. It is an upgraded version of the Custom II, that has Front Strap Checkering and Night Sights already. You can usually find these for a little more than the Custom II but still less than $1k.

Sorry, I can offer no advice regarding the Remington R1 Enchanced.

Do you have a range nearby that rents either of these guns so that you can try them out before buying?

Good luck making your choice.

“Gun control is like trying to reduce drunk driving by making it tougher for sober people to own cars.”
Old 05-22-2012, 03:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by skosh69 View Post
You could save yourself time and money and look into the Custom TLE II. It is an upgraded version of the Custom II, that has Front Strap Checkering and Night Sights already. You can usually find these for a little more than the Custom II but still less than $1k.
My vote goes to Kimber over Remington and, I totally agree with skosh69 - TLE II is totally worth to spend a little more money on so, +1
Old 05-22-2012, 03:39 PM