1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Gunsmithing & Troubleshooting

Old 03-26-2012, 01:48 AM

Sights on my Combat Commander

I have a SS 70 series Colt Combat Commander with the fixed sights . I find it harder and harder to see the sights . My bifocals have become a drag ! What options do I have if any ? Some night sights or 3 dot would be perfect ?
Old 03-26-2012, 11:01 AM

I've got a Commander and bifocals. I installed a rear sight that is a little taller than the original. I don't recall the manufacturer but there are several who make such a sight. I then carefully masked the front of the slide and filed the sides of the front sight Until I reached a width of .110 so that I had plenty of daylight on each side of the front sight when looking thru the rear which has a .125 opening. Then I went to the range with a file and adjusted the rear sight to P.O.I./P.O.A. I have another pistol that had 3 dot sights. Found them confusing to my eyes so I painted the dots. A friend has a pistol with night sights. I think they are useless in total darkness since you don't know where the target is and lining them up properly is distracting if you are moving. An illuminated front sight works for me in low light but at 5 - 10 yards I do as well with iron sights. Maybe if I had more opportunities to shoot in low light I might do better with the 'night sights'. I recommend you try the least expensive 'fix' first.
Old 03-26-2012, 11:21 AM

Night sights or 3 dots may not help you that much. Your front sight will be blurred regardless. You want the front sight to stand out. The cheapest and quickest fix at this time is bright paint on the front sight. Any paint store should have the bright orange construction paint. A dab of that paint all over the rear surface of the front sight should help you during the day time shooting.