1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Other 1911's

Old 01-22-2012, 09:32 PM

Ati titan fx 1911

Has anyone had the problem after taking apart can cleaning and putting back together that the slide will not rack back fully again like it is hitting something, I am new to the officers** model so I don't really know what to do.

Last edited by bobfromktown; 01-22-2012 at 10:34 PM. Reason: not a commanders model
Old 01-22-2012, 09:53 PM

Check to make sure that the recoil rod assembly is in place correctly. I put mine in, but not all the way seated against the barrel the first time I took it apart.
Old 01-22-2012, 09:56 PM

yup. Specially after I changed out the recoil springs. What is happening is the barrel lugs are getting hung up on the slide. All you need to do is place a lill pressure on the top of the barrel thru the ejection port.

Now getting that slide stop back in is another joy.. With the slide on the frame, move the slide rearward till you feel the recoil springs start to compress. At this point I can get the slide stop pin all the way thru the frame, but since the tab in the slide isnt lined up in the right spot it cant be sent home. SO, like I said, when you can feel the springs start to compress, push the pin almost all the way thru. Point the pin in the 6 O'clock position. This way your not gonna ding up the finish.

Now continue to move the slide back till the cut out is lined up where it should be, and partially pull the slide lock out (so you dont scratch the finish) and rotate it around to the correct position and slide it home.

re-read this post until you are comfortable doing what is described. I can not and will not be held responsible if you scratch your frame.
Old 01-22-2012, 10:04 PM

Lol, I dont think that I will hold you responsible, for idiot marks.
Old 01-22-2012, 10:07 PM

Hey, these days, who knows,,, Gotta cover my a$$