1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Reloading Bench

Old 12-30-2011, 05:58 PM

.45 case rupture

I had a case rupture at the base in a .45, set off the other rounds and ruined the magazine. Didn't help the gun much, either. I've been reloading for 30 years and never had this happen before, so I was wondering if using the same .45 brass over and over would weaken it enough to blow out that way? I usually load 200gr SWC fairly light, 800-850 fps, and I've never worried that much about .45 ACP brass the way I do with 10mm, for example, since .45 is so low pressure.

I suppose it's possible I double-charged a round; if that's the case I just need to be more careful. But has anyone ever had a .45 case rupture just from overuse? I don't count how many times I reload my ,45 brass, the way I do with 10mm and .44 mag, so some have probably been loaded 10-20 times or more. I'll have to get rid of all my .45 brass if it can't be reloaded indefinitely, the way I'd always assumed.
Old 12-30-2011, 06:38 PM

Glad you are ok! I have never seen a .45 kaboom that couldn't be explained by a reloading error.

Set off the other rounds? That sounds like more than a weak case web. Can you explain what happened further?

Want to send pictures?
COTEP #0381
"I have one simple request... and that is to have sharks with fricking laser beams attached to their heads!"
--Dr. Evil
Old 12-30-2011, 06:53 PM

The case blew out at the bottom rear, and blew into the mag. It set off the rounds in the chamber, two or three of them, and blew the bottom of the mag well off and warped it up, and it melted/warped the follower, and left that and a single lead bullet in the magazine. I couldn't find the mag spring or the brass from the rounds in the mag. The mag body is a little bent, probably not worth trying to replace the parts on it and use it again.