1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > General > General Gun Discussion

Old 11-27-2011, 01:17 PM

How to start my collection

If this isn't the correct forum, mods, please feel free to move this.

I'm relatively new to buying firearms, but I see myself making quite a few purchases over the next 10-20 years. I'd like some opinions on the best route to take. I do not plan on purchasing historical pieces, nor am I making purchases as an investment, though some may become valuable someday.

With that said, I'd like to know from those that have a collection, what the best approach to take is.

Do I start based on the caliber, buy the guns that I really want in that caliber, and then move on to the next? Do I start based on platform, and then expand into other platforms? Or, is it okay to just buy what I want and continue to learn about them as I go?

As of right now, I have a polymer .22, polymer 9, Remington R1, and a 12 gauge semi-auto. I think it's early enough for me to start my collection based on recommendations from those that have experience, so please let me know what you think.

Thanks!
Old 11-27-2011, 01:34 PM

Wow, that's a broad and tough question.
I think your question depends on a lot of things.
Purpose of use?....... Range, SD, HD, Competition, Plinking, Collection etc?
Since you did mention starting a collection, and it were me, I'd start by purchasing the guns I've always wanted. Typically, they also come in the caliber you want.
I'm sure once you start reviewing the thousands of varieties of handguns, I'm sure you'll come up with a decent shopping list
Old 11-27-2011, 01:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bpschulte View Post
Wow, that's a broad and tough question.
I think your question depends on a lot of things.
Purpose of use?....... Range, SD, HD, Competition, Plinking, Collection etc?