1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Gunsmithing & Troubleshooting

Old 09-12-2011, 06:40 AM

Colt Combat Commander 38 Super barrel switch to 9mm

I have a Colt Combat Commander in 38 super (80 Series) and wonder if it is possible to drop in a 9mm barrel. I just replaced the extractor and note that the extractor is the same for both a 38 super and 9mm. If this is a simple switch where might I find a 9mm barrel for the Colt Combat Commander? Thanks for any info.
Old 09-12-2011, 07:29 AM

I have a 38 super Combat Commander with a 9mm Kart barrel. It was not a drop in but a gunsmith fit barrel. A Colt Commander 9mm Barrel could possibly be a drop in replacement, only by trying it and checking lockup and timing would you know for sure.

Most of the aftermarket pre-fit or drop in barrels quite often will require a little fitting. 9mm Colts use a longer ejector than a 38 super but mine runs fine with the 38 super ejector.

USPSA A-27738

Allan
Old 09-12-2011, 08:35 AM

.38super to 9mm barrel

The original 9mm extractor on a Colt 9mm is longer than the Colt .38 super, by approximately 3/8". This is due to the fact that the original Colt 9mm mags used a spacer in the back to move the 9mm round closer to the feed ramp. Some folks use 9mm mags that do not have the spacer in the back, and they seem to work OK without a longer ejector.

I have an STI 2011, and I always use a longer ejector. This gun may work with a shorter ejector, but since the case clears faster, it is much more reliable in my gun.....I use the gun in competitive action shooting and it is one of the most reliable weapons I own.

I am sure Kart, KKM, or Bar Sto can offer a 9mm commander barrel either with a bushing or bull barrel style.
Old 09-12-2011, 09:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by richpetrone View Post
The original 9mm extractor on a Colt 9mm is longer than the Colt .38 super, by approximately 3/8".