1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Reloading Bench

Old 07-23-2011, 01:31 PM

Best Turret Press

I have been using a RCBS Rock Chucker for over 20 years and I have been thinking about getting a Turret Press. I was wanting different opinions on which would be the best to buy. Pros and Cons
Old 07-23-2011, 01:50 PM

That depends on what your goal is. Are you wanting to load more rounds per hour? Are you just looking to not have to change die? Are you going to batch load or load a round complete then move on to the next?

If you want to load more per hour and load a complete round and not batch load then the Lee classic turret is hard to beat. The classic turret is the only turret that auto indexes. The spent primers go through a hollow ram into a tube and keeps them from making a mess. The safety prime works very good. I can load around 200 rounds per hour on mine. I have had it five years and have had no problems.

If you are going to batch load them any of the turret presses should work fine.
Old 07-23-2011, 01:52 PM

Go with Blue

I use a Dillion 550B for all of my reloading and have done so with great satisfaction for 25 years or so. I reload 45ACP, 45LC, 44WCF, 38WCF and 38spl. Changing the set up for a different caliber is quick and easy, and Dillion's customer support is world famous.. I have had little break, and when it did, a call to Dillion brought the the parts to my door no charge. Dillion machines have a lifetime, no BS warranty, the applies if you are the first or tenth owner. They fix or replace with no "discussion."

If you only need/want to reload one caliber, then you might consider the Square Deal "B." A few less bucks. Both machines are great value for the dollar.

http://www.dillonprecision.com/Dillo...hines-8-1.html
Old 07-23-2011, 01:59 PM